Wastewater Service Area

The Ypsilanti Community Utilities Authority provides water and wastewater services to the Ypsilanti area. Water and/or wastewater services are provided to the City of Ypsilanti, Charter Township of Ypsilanti, Pittsfield Township, Augusta Township, Sumpter Township, and Superior Township.  YCUA contracts with the Western Townships Utilities Authority (WTUA) to provide wastewater treatment services for the Townships of Canton, Northville, and Plymouth.  YCUA executed a wastewater service contract with Salem Township but is not yet receiving any sewage flow. The total population of the member and contract communities is almost 328,000 people. 

YCUA is responsible for operation and maintenance of the public wastewater facilities within the Charter Township of Ypsilanti and the City of Ypsilanti as well as the pressure sewer pipe that transports the effluent from the wastewater treatment plant to the discharge location along the Lower Rouge River in Wayne County. The YCUA wastewater system includes more than 200 miles of collection sewers, more than 60 miles of interceptor sewers, almost 23 miles of sanitary force mains, 33 pump stations, and the wastewater treatment plant.

YCUA’s wastewater service area is shown on the figure below.

WW Service Area